What is the best SAFe certification for beginners?

Home     |     What is the best SAFe certification for beginners?

How to get SAFe certification

What is the best SAFe certification for beginners?

The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) has become a go-to framework for organizations looking to scale agile and lean practices. For beginners who are new to SAFe, choosing the right certification can be a crucial first step. In this guide, we will explore the best SAFe certification options for fresh beginners who are just starting their SAFe journey.

What is the best SAFe certification for beginners

  1. SAFe for Government (SGP)

SAFe for Government is an excellent starting point for beginners who are involved in government or public sector projects. This certification provides a foundational understanding of SAFe principles, practices, and how they can be adapted to government environments. It's a perfect choice for those looking to align agile methodologies with government projects.

  1. Leading SAFe (SA)

Leading SAFe, also known as SAFe Agilist (SA), is a fundamental certification for those looking to become change agents within their organization. This certification covers the core principles of SAFe and equips you with the knowledge to lead agile transformations at the enterprise level. It's a great choice for individuals who want to drive organizational change.

  1. SAFe for Teams (SP)

SAFe for Teams (SP) focuses on the Agile Release Train (ART), which is a key element in SAFe. This certification is ideal for team members who are looking to understand their role in delivering value within the ART. It provides insights into how agile teams work together to deliver value efficiently.

  1. SAFe DevOps (SDP)

For those interested in the intersection of development (Dev) and IT operations (Ops), the SAFe DevOps (SDP) certification is an excellent choice. It covers the principles and practices of DevOps in a SAFe context, enabling teams to improve collaboration, communication, and automation.

  1. Implementing SAFe (SPC)

Implementing SAFe (SPC) is the next step for those who want to take a leadership role in SAFe transformations. This certification is designed for change agents, consultants, and leaders who want to implement SAFe in large enterprises. It provides the skills and knowledge needed to effectively lead SAFe adoptions.

  1. SAFe Scrum Master (SSM)

The SAFe Scrum Master (SSM) certification is tailored for Scrum Masters who want to enhance their agile knowledge within the SAFe framework. It covers the role of a Scrum Master in a SAFe enterprise, focusing on facilitating team and program-level events, and improving team performance.


For beginners embarking on their SAFe journey, choosing the right certification is a significant decision. The best SAFe certification for you depends on your role, industry, and career goals. Whether you are in government, leading change, working within teams, focusing on DevOps, or taking on a leadership role, SAFe offers a certification to suit your needs.

We also need fire extinguishers in our homes and cars to reinforce your safety,Please click here to learn more.

Back to blog

“Duis convallis turpis in tortor vo are risus euismod varius feugiat ultrices Sed condime ntum est libero,aliqculis”

Dave Kimberley
CEO Smart Hosting